Mechanical Problems/Vehicle Issues and Fix-it Forum If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a Check Engine Light that won't go away, ask about it here!

2000 Civic VP Engine swap questions

Search this Thread

Old 01-28-2012
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Dstock is an unknown quantity at this point
2000 Civic VP Engine swap questions

So, I am new to the Honda world (mostly a background in German engineering) and need to swap out the engine in my 2000 Civic VP. It has the D16Y7 engine, and I have found a few engines available with low miles on ebay (imported from Japan). My questions is, with these swaps should I be looking for anything in particular? Is the Japanese D16Y7 set up any differently? Will it be a direct swap, or will I have to swap any parts from the old engine, etc...

I am not a stranger to turning a wrench, and will be doing this work myself, but need a heads up on what to look for. Should I plan on replacing anything before the new engine goes in? I was planning on doing plugs, wires, belts, etc. but do I need to do things like the waterpump/thermo?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated, and if I am in the wrong forum and this would be better suited somewhere else, please let me know! Thanks in advance!

Here is a link to the engine/supplier I am looking at.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/JDM-Honda-D1...a18d44a7f#shId

and here is a link to the old thread
https://www.civicforums.com/forums/2...ml#post4577078
Old 01-28-2012
If you think a good mechanic is expensive, try hiring a bad one

Received 250 Likes on 182 Posts