Mechanical Problems/Vehicle Issues and Fix-it Forum If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a Check Engine Light that won't go away, ask about it here!

Crankshaft Position Sensor...white smoke?

Search this Thread

Old 03-31-2011
civic97SI500k

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
civic97SI500k will become famous soon enough
Crankshaft Position Sensor...white smoke?

Hello all,

I'm a newbie on this forum, just got registered but in the past I have used the advices from members postings.

Last few days the car started bucking and jerking in lower gears, but as you pressed on the gas it would go away. Yestrday however it came to the point that I could not go pass the second gear, had to pull to the side of the highway and turn the car off. Even in neutral pressing the gas pedal it would not go above 2000 RPM. Waited a minute turned it back on, drove for another 500m until the closest turnoff and parked the car.

As I lifted the hood I noticed white smoke coming from the back of the engine, luckily I had some water with me and started spilling it on the area. I even went and looked from under the car to see what it was and the part that leads into the muffler was lava red and smoking.

The car got towed away to Canadian Tire and they ran a scan and told me that the crankshaft position sensor is gone.

They however had no explanation as to why the car was smoking, and reading through the message on this forum for the past 24 hours I haven't found one similar incident.

Any help or suggestion would be appreciated, as I am about to do the labour myself (did 3 honda timing belts last summer)...
Old 04-01-2011
Whachya lookin at?

Received 11 Likes on 7 Posts