I.C.E. (Audio) & Electrical Upgrades Post all your I.C.E. (In Car Entertainment) and wiring questions here (Audio, video etc.)

Immobilizer issue, originally alternator

Search this Thread

Old 11-15-2014
Joshua

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
joshua.mills is an unknown quantity at this point
Immobilizer issue, originally alternator

TLDR - alternator mount bolts break>car stalls from dead battery>fixed alt bolts and remounted>car enters limp mode w/ key light flashing>replaced ecu> new one programs, but still will not start the car, key light cont. flashes> now old one wont start the car either> any suggestions? I know you guys have solved similar issues before but this seems pretty specific in my sit.

I am a newbie here with the electrical problems in hondas, so I'm here for some expert advice on what hopefully is a common enough problem this forum has dealt with. Well here's my situation.

I have a 2005 honda civic hx auto, and recently the alternator mount bolt stripped and shook out of its mount. It kept falling out when I remounted it it would keep falling out. leaving it out made the alternator shake around annoyingly. Because I ignored it, the bottom bolt sheared off and the car stalled on the road because the battery died. When I got it home I remounted the alternator and tried to jumpstart it. The car started but it entered what seemed like limp mode, where a glovebox relay would click and engine light would flash in sync with the clicking, and the rev and temp gauges would also jump as well. Eventually it stopped after 10 clicks and the engine light comes on, the two gauges died, and my car didnt sound right at all, like it was running rich. the key light was also flashing i believe. It would not rev past 2500, and wouldnt move without reving it up to that point.