I.C.E. (Audio) & Electrical Upgrades Post all your I.C.E. (In Car Entertainment) and wiring questions here (Audio, video etc.)

What equipment do I need to safely interface with Serial port?

Search this Thread

Old 07-04-2012
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
torontob is an unknown quantity at this point
What equipment do I need to safely interface with Serial port?

Hi Everyone,

I am a computer programmer and been playing with embedded boards for quiet a while now. I don't want to buy anything of the shelf but rather build my own voice command solution for the car. I will be using Linux + Google Speech Recognition API and few other open source technologies to build something like SIRI.

I will be having a Nexus 7 tablet in the car as well + internet data. Here is a list of things I would like to do and I am wondering if they are possible to do and if so what kind of hardware should I look into for interfacing between my embedded board (has a serial port) and the car electronics:

Honda Civic 2009 - DX-G
1- Voice command engine start
2- Reading status of the car
3- Reading mileage and maintenance schedules
4- Opening and locking doors
3- Controlling all windows
4- Controlling Air-conditioner and Stereo system
5- Other cool things?

I have the speech recognition system and the computer ready. I need to work with the electric system and car computer.

I am also wondering how I would be able to provide power after the car is turned off as the embedded computer might have to stay on for a while until it's safely shut-down or be ON all the time.

Some advise would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Old 07-04-2012
If you think a good mechanic is expensive, try hiring a bad one

Received 250 Likes on 182 Posts