Mechanical Problems/Vehicle Issues and Fix-it Forum If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a Check Engine Light that won't go away, ask about it here!

2009 Civic Air Conditioning System Mystery

Search this Thread

Old 07-13-2015
Registered!!

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
mjdiaz89 is an unknown quantity at this point
2009 Civic Air Conditioning System Mystery

Hi, all.

It's my first time posting on CF, so hi, everyone

I have a bit of a mystery with the air conditioner on my 2009 Honda Civic. After Googling for many hours on end, I haven't found anyone with a similar issue. Check out this mystery and let me know what you think.
  • The AC system works fine in the morning for about 20min, then hot air all day long (thermometer in the vent recorded 120F).
  • I took it into the shop. They say it was low on R134a. They filled it up.
  • Next morning, it worked for a whole three minutes longer, but, alas, the same thing happens.
  • Thinking I had a leak, I bought a can of ACPro. I waited for the air to blow hot again before connecting the can to the L pressure side. It read 110psi on a 98deg day. I noticed the compressor clutch was not engaged.
    I take it back to the shop and ask them to reduce the amount of R134a in the system, thinking that the system shut-off because of overpressure.
  • Their machine reads that it's actually low on refrigerant. They vacuum it and replenish it with dye this time. I was told to go drive it for an hour and bring it back.