Engine Post your engine related problems in this section. Engines will cover from Fuel, Engine, Cooling, Exhaust physical related items.

2008 civic ex automatic getting 200 miles per tank

Search this Thread

Old 08-13-2014
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
atarisafari is an unknown quantity at this point
2008 civic ex automatic getting 200 miles per tank

So I purchased a 2008 Civic EX automatic a few days ago to replace the 98 Chevy Lumina I had been driving for a few years. The Lumina was killing me on gas so naturally one of the main selling points of the civic for me was the reputation for being great on gas. Unfortunately I seem to be getting nowhere near what I expected. I know that you should never expect to get the manufacturer rated mpg but 16 mpg vs the reported 26 is a massive difference. I took the car in to my family mechanic and he said it drove great and that no codes came up but im not sure if he really got in there and checked everything. I don't know much about cars but i ddefinitely think there has to be something wrong. I know the top answer is gonna be that it's my driving style but i am a very careful driver and don't ever accelerate above 4k rpm. Also i should mention this is 100% city.
Old 08-13-2014
Registered!!

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
jordan1794 is just really nicejordan1794 is just really nicejordan1794 is just really nicejordan1794 is just really nicejordan1794 is just really nice
Re: 2008 civic ex automatic getting 200 miles per tank

A few things we need to know...

Firstly, are you actually tracking your mileage, by recording the exact miles between fill-ups and exactly how many gallons you are putting in it, every time?

I think if you do that you will find that you are much closer to 25 or 30 than you think, which actually would be within my expectations for all city, especially with a lot of stop and go.