Mechanical Problems/Vehicle Issues and Fix-it Forum If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a Check Engine Light that won't go away, ask about it here!

Civic 2012 Power steering groans

Old 09-22-2013
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
proteus is an unknown quantity at this point
Civic 2012 Power steering groans

Hi all,

I am a new driver and new to cars in general. My year and half old Honda Civic 2012 is exhibiting this issue. When I turn rapidly, the steering column groans slightly. This does not happen everytime but has been happening more often in the last few days. Can someone suggest why this could be so?

Also, since Civics come with a 3year warranty, could this be covered? Would I be required to pay anything; not sure how warranties work in the US?
Old 09-22-2013
If you think a good mechanic is expensive, try hiring a bad one

Received 250 Likes on 182 Posts
ezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Civic 2012 Power steering groans

Sounds like a warranty matter (if it is, in fact, a real problem).

You do not pay a dime for issues that are covered by the factory warranty and within the warranty period. Read your owners literature.

Bumper to bumper warranty is 3 years/36,000 miles, and powertrain is covered for 5 years/60,000 miles. Again, please read the literature provided for more info.

When you take your car to your dealership, be sure to demonstrate your concern directly to the service writer or technician, so everyone involved knows exactly what you are talking about and is on the same page.