General 8th & 9th Gen Got a question or want to post but it doesn't quite fall under any other topic? Post up here!

2006 - what to watch for

Search this Thread

Old 08-31-2013
fcs
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
fcs is an unknown quantity at this point
2006 - what to watch for

Hello forum,

I'm buying a low-mileage 2006 LX sedan. Is there anything special I should watch for or know about? Any systems that tend to have issues?

This is my first Civic and my first post to this forum. I've got an older CR-V that has been really good except for recurring suspension problems. I'm a shade tree mechanic and live in the rust belt.
Old 08-31-2013
Registered!!

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
jordan1794 is just really nicejordan1794 is just really nicejordan1794 is just really nicejordan1794 is just really nicejordan1794 is just really nice
Re: 2006 - what to watch for

Two things that I know of.

Firstly, some of the 2006's have an issue where the engine block can crack.Not sure if there is a certain VIN range that are more prone to it or not, and I don't know what kind of warranty extension, if any, is available for it.

Secondly is that the rear upper control arms are faulty on most of the 2006's. They cause un-even/rapid rear tire wear which will eventually produce some pretty significant road noise.
I believe there is a letter in white on the arms if they have been replaced, but if they are stock they will need to be replaced. Currently there is a pending class action lawsuit, so if they have not been replaced then I'd wait until it goes through to get it fixed, if possible.

I'm sure e-zone will be in here eventually to drop a link for the lawsuit page, and to tell any info he has.

If not I'll post the link in the morning, don't feel like it now.
Old 09-01-2013
If you think a good mechanic is expensive, try hiring a bad one

Received 250 Likes on 182 Posts