Notices
Wheels and Tires Post your wheel and tire related questions here.

Tyre Pressure Inflation Issue

Search this Thread

Old 06-28-2016
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
dacoffee is an unknown quantity at this point
Tyre Pressure Inflation Issue

Hello,

I am new to this forum, I am sorry if this question has already been answered.

I own Civic LX 2011 Model (42k miles driven, this was a certified vehicle when I brought from Honda dealer 2 years back). About 2-3 weeks back, I saw my first TPMS indicator flashing on dashboard. I googled it up (sorry, I am a newbie) and found out that this happens when the pressure is either less or more than what it should be.

I took my pressure gauge and went to gas station. Checked tyre pressure and sure enough I found the front tyre had 31.5 PSI while the rear ones had 36 PSI. I balanced it out and kept 32 PSI in all four tyres. After driving for few miles, the light went off and I was happy until yesterday night when the TPMS light again came on.

I checked the pressure and instead of 32 PSI the pressure was between 33 and 34 in all four of them. I removed some air and its again 32 in all of them.

My questions are:

1. Why did the pressure increase on its own? I am sure it was 32 when I filled it last time.
2. Should I be concerned about this or is this a usual activity? I thought that pressure might increase due to increase pressure during Summer but this could be totally stupid reasoning.
3. What is the threshold below or above which it becomes dangerous to drive? I want to ensure I am not risking myself or my car.

I will really appreciate expert comments. I am now feeling scared taking my car out on highways

Best!
Old 06-28-2016
Registered!!

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts