6th Generation Civic 1996 - 2000 In the years from 1996 to 2000 Honda released it's 6th Generation Civic.
Chassis codes: EK9, EK4, EK3, EJ6, EJ8, EJ9, EM1

Strange electrical issue.

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-2017
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
EthanJM is an unknown quantity at this point
Strange electrical issue.

Hey, I'm not good with electrical issues and this could be something stupid or serious, I'm just not sure. It is a 98 civic dx.
So this has happened twice, first time I didn't witness it (happened to my fiancee) but this time I just saw it happen.

The first time this happened it was to my fiancee, she turned the car off in a parking lot and decided to turn it back on so she could listen to a song, the car was acting fine, got her to her destination just fine, but when she went to start it back up right after turning it off the car did absolutely nothing, no lights, no crank, no tick, radio, etc. I got a call from her, my friend and I got there, neither of us had a multimeter, but when we were jumping it it acted as if the battery was low after letting it charge for a minute.

The next day (today) the car was just started in a parking lot after doing numerous errands with no problems, but this time the radio shut off and came back on, then the srs (airbag) light came on. The car drove fine, we got it home, I turned it off and tried to start it right back up and there was nothing, no lights, the starter did nothing, it was as if the battery was 100% flat. I opened the hood and just moved the positive terminal a little and the headlights came on, checked the voltage on the battery and it was 12.5v, from there the car started back up. The previous owner had a radio amp on there, there was no fuse though, I took it off just in case. When the car is running the multimeter reads 14.5 volts, so the alternator seems okay.