6th Generation Civic 1996 - 2000 In the years from 1996 to 2000 Honda released it's 6th Generation Civic.
Chassis codes: EK9, EK4, EK3, EJ6, EJ8, EJ9, EM1

97 civic lx cranks no start driving me crazy

Search this Thread

Old 11-21-2016
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Kevin.Sahib is an unknown quantity at this point
97 civic lx cranks no start driving me crazy

hello there, i'm new to Hondas, but i'm a BMW DIYer, long story short
i have this 97 civic lx with 1.6L it cranks but doesn't start so far i checked everything i know:
i checked coils and it's all good i'm getting spark on all 5 coils
i checked/replaced spark plugs so it's all good here
i checked fuel pump works fine, relay clicks with ignition, also replaced fuel filter
i checked timing belt timing and it's perfect
i checked camshaft position sensor with simple O-meter and i'm getting readings on the far end pins (i have no code that tells me it's bad) in fact i have no codes at all
i checked for Head gasket leak, nothing there, although i'm getting low compression on cylinder 2,3,4 (50-60)psi
i know my injectors work because when i try to start the car then pull all the plugs they come out wet with gasoline
i also sprayed BC on the throttle body with no luck there
so am i missing something here, what's going on
Old 11-21-2016
Dr Krieger of Modification

Received 84 Likes on 58 Posts
mac25 is a splendid one to beholdmac25 is a splendid one to beholdmac25 is a splendid one to beholdmac25 is a splendid one to beholdmac25 is a splendid one to beholdmac25 is a splendid one to beholdmac25 is a splendid one to beholdmac25 is a splendid one to beholdmac25 is a splendid one to behold
Re: 97 civic lx cranks no start driving me crazy

I'm not sure if you don't know how to trouble shoot or you're just writing the short version. So take no offense if you tested the systems properly.

-For no start check all grounds (especially battery terminals, well both), fuses and relays.