7th Generation Civic 2001 - 2005 In the years from 2001 to 2005 Honda released it's 7th Generation Civic.
Chassis codes: EM2, ES1, EP3, EU1
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

2003 Honda Civic oil pump replacement question.

Search this Thread

Old 02-28-2017
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Ohyaimember is an unknown quantity at this point
2003 Honda Civic oil pump replacement question.

I have an oil leak that appears to be coming from the oil seal on my oil pump. This is my first time doing any major repair on a vehicle, so i have little experience. From what I understand it is a good idea to replace the timing belt due to oil leaking into it, as well as the water pump. I will include a list of the parts I have purchased for this repair so far, so if theres something else that i should replace, i would encourage any suggestions. My real question though is what steps do i have to take to get to my oil pump? I just removed my oil pan so you know where I am at for a reference.

High temp rtv sealant
water pump
timing belt
power steering belt
alternator belt
oil pump o ring and seal
brake parts cleaner
replacement oil and coolant
torque wrench
Old 02-28-2017
Registered!!

RIPSAW has a spectacular aura aboutRIPSAW has a spectacular aura about
Re: 2003 Honda Civic oil pump replacement question.

Have you broken the crank pulley loose or have tools to do that? Are your parts OEM from a Honda dealer? Do you have a service manual? Were there signs of oil pump problems? Maybe just the seal for that. How many miles on car?

Search Youtube for this repair for sure and watch closely till you have all the detail in your head.
Old 02-28-2017
If you think a good mechanic is expensive, try hiring a bad one

Received 250 Likes on 182 Posts