7th Generation Civic 2001 - 2005 In the years from 2001 to 2005 Honda released it's 7th Generation Civic.
Chassis codes: EM2, ES1, EP3, EU1

Question about the Clutch! My first manual car!

Search this Thread

Old 09-22-2016
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
jstasik97 is an unknown quantity at this point
Question about the Clutch! My first manual car!

Hey guys! Newbie (Joe) here. I got my first manual car yesterday! (Civic LX Special Edition Coupe) And i'm starting to drive it a little smoother! I have a question though...
When starting off (While i'm still learning) is it bad that I hold the clutch in for a second after im moving? (
Example; I'm stopped, Push the clutch down, and put it in first. Then I release the clutch to a little before the biting point. Then I give it gas, and until i get going a few miles per hour I hold the clutch at biting point (like two seconds after biting) and then I can let it the rest out a second or two later.
Or else if I just let the clutch all the way out right after biting, then the car gets all jumpy for a second until I get going.

Does doing this do major damage to my clutch? I'm sure i'll get quicker with it in a few days though, just worrying about for the next few days. Thanks!!
Old 09-22-2016
Registered!!

RustyShackle will become famous soon enough
Re: Question about the Clutch! My first manual car!

Ideally you should be off the clutch as quick and smooth as possible - which comes with practice.

4 seconds is a long time to be riding the clutch to get moving from a stop. As soon as the clutch starts to engage you should be on the gas while smoothly letting out the clutch.

All the extra time you spend with the clutch partially engaged wears it out more quickly.
Old 09-23-2016
Registered!!

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts