7th Generation Civic 2001 - 2005 In the years from 2001 to 2005 Honda released it's 7th Generation Civic.
Chassis codes: EM2, ES1, EP3, EU1

Honda Civic Hybrid: Transmission Problems: Won't honour extended warranty

Old 10-10-2011
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Allison27 is an unknown quantity at this point
Honda Civic Hybrid: Transmission Problems: Won't honour extended warranty

Happy Thanksgiving!

I am looking for advice anyone might be able to offer me regarding my situation with Honda. I bought my 2005 Honda Civic Hybrid in 2007 with 68 000 km from a private dealer in Toronto (not Honda). Because I am not a mechanic and know very little about cars I decided to take my car to Honda dealers for service. I knew I would pay a premium price but I wanted to make sure I took good care of my $15500 investment. I took my car to Honda more than once a year for service and did some oil changes at home with my Dad. Each time they told me my car was in good shape and needed no work.

A couple of weeks ago I noticed my car was "shuddering" when accelerating from a stop. Next the check engine light came on. When this happened I took it to a private mechanic near to where I was at the time as I was afriad to drive it and damage it further. At that shop they told me it was a transmission code, they also told me the transmission fluid had never been changed. I did some research and found out this was a fairly common problem called a CVT transmission "Judder." Honda Canada sent out a Technical Service Bulletin (TSB) in 2008 to their dealers so they would know how to deal with the problem. They also indicated in the TSB that Honda would extend teh warranty to 160000km and 7 years old if a car came in with this issue. I thought I was Ok because it is a 2005 with 142 000km on it and I had taken it to Honda for service. I was wrong...