7th Generation Civic 2001 - 2005 In the years from 2001 to 2005 Honda released it's 7th Generation Civic.
Chassis codes: EM2, ES1, EP3, EU1

2005 put 2.5 gallons of gas with diesel residue

Search this Thread

Old 08-09-2011
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
taltho is an unknown quantity at this point
2005 put 2.5 gallons of gas with diesel residue

Hallow everyone

I'm new to civics, just got mine... anyway.

I put 2.5 gallons of gas in my car (2005 civic) while the gas can I used had diesel residue from filling my truck, about 1/32 to 1/16 inch of diesel in a 5 gallon tank.

I drove about 10 miles and realized my check engine light had come on, I took it home an parked it. (a total of 10 or less miles)

What would be the wisest corse of action from this point to protect my car?

Thank you in advance for your replies.

Edit: After topping the fuel tank off to dilute the diesel this car is running just fine without any problems at all.There are no check engine lights or warnings of any kind. Edit 8-25-2011

Last edited by taltho; 08-25-2011 at 09:29 PM.
Old 08-09-2011
Premium Member
Hey! Look At Me!! I'm a Supporting Member!!

Received 18 Likes on 13 Posts
gearbox has a reputation beyond reputegearbox has a reputation beyond reputegearbox has a reputation beyond reputegearbox has a reputation beyond reputegearbox has a reputation beyond reputegearbox has a reputation beyond reputegearbox has a reputation beyond reputegearbox has a reputation beyond reputegearbox has a reputation beyond reputegearbox has a reputation beyond reputegearbox has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 2005 put 2.5 gallons of gas with diesel residue

start by draining the gas tank. then fill up with gas and drive it. if everything seems fine, you got lucky. if not, it will be a long and expensive journey replacing parts.
Old 08-09-2011
Registered!!

Ouch!
Thank you gearbox for the reply I greatly appreciate it.

I guess I'm down to hoping and praying.