7th Generation Civic 2001 - 2005 In the years from 2001 to 2005 Honda released it's 7th Generation Civic.
Chassis codes: EM2, ES1, EP3, EU1

How to change an alternator?

Old 02-22-2011
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
TyroneF is an unknown quantity at this point
How to change an alternator?

Sorry if i'm posting this under the wrong section, but I own a 2004 Honda Civic Value Package, 1.7 litre engine

Are there any DIY videos that show how to change out my alternator? I'm a auto noob tryna save some money

I've seen a couple and by the look of my engine it seems I need to move out my power steering out the way? How risky is it that I am doing this? Thanks for all your help guys
Old 02-22-2011
TRUST me! I'm Idiot Proof!

BobDobolina has a spectacular aura aboutBobDobolina has a spectacular aura aboutBobDobolina has a spectacular aura about
Re: How to change an alternator?

Yes there is a DIY, but not specifically for the alt. Search this forum for a timing belt change.
That will show you the removal of the P/S pump and the Alternator. Its not hard at all.
FYI a ...1-1/16" socket (big enough to fit over the thumb screw) makes tightening the belts back up a cinch.
Old 02-22-2011
Registered!!

Originally Posted by BobDobolina
Yes there is a DIY, but not specifically for the alt. Search this forum for a timing belt change.
That will show you the removal of the P/S pump and the Alternator. Its not hard at all.
FYI a ...1-1/16" socket (big enough to fit over the thumb screw) makes tightening the belts back up a cinch.
Thanks bob, is there a way you can link me? I'm such a tard when it comes to this kind of stuff
Old 02-22-2011
Car Enthusiasts

Raid3n is an unknown quantity at this point

Should be pretty is bro.. ill post a link for you if i find any diy
Old 02-22-2011
Whachya lookin at?

Received 11 Likes on 7 Posts