8th & 9th Generation Civic 2006 - 2015 9th Gen 2012 - 2015.
8th Gen 2006 - 2011.
9th Gen Chassis Codes: FB2, FB4, FB6, FG 3, FG4.
8th Gen Chassis Codes: FG1, FG2, FA1, FA3, FA5.

Question... 8th gen 2011, or 9th 2012? Engine?

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2011
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
LookingAtSi is an unknown quantity at this point
Question... 8th gen 2011, or 9th 2012? Engine?

Hello everyone,

I am currently a Honda driver, and being happy with the simplicity/reliability (but wanting more performance), I have been taking a look at getting a Civic Si.

Currently, what I have thought of is:

1. The 17" rim upgrade (I like the design better, and heard it is lighter, but really it was just preference over the standard design).
2. The performance brakes... not because I plan on driving fast, but because I will be driving A LOT in the mountains, and brakes that resist heat better and cool faster are important for the repeat, sharp turns.
3. The CD changer... I will use my iPod a lot, but still have a ton of CDs and like the option.

My questions are:

1. Should I just wait longer, and go for the 9th Gen? Is there any significant performance/electronics upgrade?

2. How much performance could I gain without sacrificing reliability? I don't plan on racing this car or anything, but have on multiple occasions almost been run off the interstate by truckers not paying attention, or people on back-country roads driving drunk (or so I assume). I would prefer being able to quickly shift and get out of the way, instead of braking hard and trying to find a good place to slide off the road.

I am a Civic Si novice, I've been reading over several threads here and over some I have found on Google, and just wanted to directly ask these questions to get the opinions of more knowledgeable people.

Thank you!