8th & 9th Generation Civic 2006 - 2015 9th Gen 2012 - 2015.
8th Gen 2006 - 2011.
9th Gen Chassis Codes: FB2, FB4, FB6, FG 3, FG4.
8th Gen Chassis Codes: FG1, FG2, FA1, FA3, FA5.

Looking into the 2008 Civic....

Search this Thread

Old 11-02-2007
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
ps2cho is an unknown quantity at this point
Looking into the 2008 Civic....

Hi guys,

I am currently a student and I drive an old 1988 Mercedes 300TE. It averages about 15mpg on my trips to work and school (sidestreets and freeway).

I want something new and does great gas mileage for the cheapest price and I found the civic.

How reliable are the civics in reality? I know my Mercedes is an absolute tank and it never need's anything done to it. (last generation before Mercedes turned to more profit by cutting quality)

Also in real terms, what is the average MPG on it? I want to buy new so I can take care of it and make it last a long time.

Does everybody like their civic?

What about upgrades for the future to boost some HP? Do they take benefit from KN Filters etc? I don't want a rice car here...I'm not into that. I want to get black and then when I can afford it, tint the windows black and get some nice black rims.

I am a student so I gotta save up some money before I look to buy it because I can't afford to take out an $18,000 loan because I couldn't afford the monthly payments.

Thanks, ps2cho
Old 11-02-2007
Registered!!

Jutty is on a distinguished road
Re: Looking into the 2008 Civic....

I have had my 07 since June and have 8000 miles without any problems thus far...i average 33 mpg, but i can make it better or worse...depends on my shifting...plenty of upgrades out there for the civic
Old 11-02-2007
Registered!!

Ravenous is an unknown quantity at this point

It'd honestly be hard to go wrong with it whatsoever.

Last time I did the math, I was getting some 32mpg when I was off the pedal.